Benedict Jacka

Benedict Jacka

Benedict Jacka
Benedict Jacka
Benedict Jacka (born 25 September 1980) is a British author, best known for his Alex Verus series.

Jacka was born in England and attended the City of London School. He later attended Cambridge University, where he graduated with a Bachelors in philosophy and met his editor Sophie Hicks from Ed Victor Ltd. His first novels were three children’s fantasy novels that didn’t get published, with that honour going to a children’s non-fantasy novel called To Be A Ninja (Later: Ninja: The Beginning).

From 2000 on, he developed a fantasy setting for which he wrote four books, whose main characters were teenage elementals. None of the four were published. In 2009, he decided to try again with an adult character and a more information-based ability. Three years later, in 2012, he published the first book of the Alex Verus series, two more followed the same year.

Critical reception for Jacka’s work has been mostly positive. Of the Alex Verus series, SF Site has cited the series’ characters and chapter cliffhangers as highlights.SF Crowsnest gave an overall positive review for Cursed, while stating it was “an enjoyable, if unchallenging, read”.

links will take you to an affiliate link where you can buy the book

The Beginning aka To Be a Ninja 2005 Ninja series
The Battle 2007 Ninja series
Fated 2012 Alex Versus series
Cursed 2012 Alex Versus series
Taken 2012 Alex Versus series
Chosen 2013 Alex Versus series
Hidden 2014 Alex Versus series
Veiled 2015 Alex Versus series
Burned 2016 Alex Versus series
Bound 2017 Alex Versus series
Marked 2018 Alex Versus series
Fallen 2019 Alex Versus series
Forged 2020 Alex Versus series
Risen 2021 Alex Versus series
Favours short story between Veiled and Burned 2021 Alex Versus series (Kindle)

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.